The First Awarding of The Heinrich Rohrer Medals

The First Awarding of The Heinrich Rohrer Medals

The Surface Science Society of Japan (SSSJ) initiated the Heinrich Rohrer Medal in order to celebrate the great achievements accomplished by one of the Nobel Laureates in 1986, Dr. Heinrich Rohrer. The Heinrich Rohrer Medal is composed of the Grand Medal and the Rising Medal.

The winners of the first awarding of The Heinrich Rohrer Medals were now announced by the SSSJ. The Medal is awarded to researchers who have made top-level achievements in the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology. The Grand Medal goes to researchers who have made distinguished achievements in the field of nano science and nanotechnology based on surface science.The Rising Medal goes to researchers of 37 or less years old who have made outstanding results and are expected to continue to play active roles in the field.

This year’s winners are as follows:

The Heinrich Rohrer Medal – Grand Medal: 

Roland Wiesendanger(born in 1961)
Professor at the University of Hamburg, Germany
For his pioneering and ground-breaking achievements on spin-resolved scanning tunneling microscopy and spectroscopy, bringing about very deep insights in spin-related properties of materials at atomic scale.
Award Achievements

The Heinrich Rohrer Medal – Rising Medals: 

  Yoshiaki Sugimoto(born in 1978)
Associate Professor at Osaka University, Japan
For his outstanding contributions to manipulation and chemical identification
of individual atoms using atomic force microscopy.
Award Achievements
Jan Hugo Dil (born in 1977)
SNSF Professor at Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
For his leading and creative roles in identifying novel spin structures using synchrotron radiation-based spin- and angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy.
Award Achievements

The award ceremony will be held on November 5th, 2014 at ISSS-7 in Matsue City, Japan. The winners will deliver the award lectures there.

This entry was posted in Japan News. Bookmark the permalink.